Skip to main content
Department Of Theatre And Media Arts

Department of Theatre and Media Arts Announces 2021 Outstanding Theatre Student Awards

After a year of innovation and creativity, the TMA department offers awards to superb students

These awards are a way for the faculty to honor those students who have been exemplary in their work and service to the department and to their peers this past year.

“These students are the best and brightest our theatre programs have to offer. It is a joy to be able to celebrate their good work here at BYU and we look forward to seeing great things from them in the future!” said theatre and media arts department Chair Megan Sanborn Jones.

Outstanding Lighting Design: Emma Hansen

Outstanding Makeup & Hair Design: Abi Neilsen

Outstanding Costume Design: Karaleigh Garrison

Outstanding Set Design: Elisabeth Goulding

Outstanding Stage Management Student: Kathryn Arnold

  1. Lee Walker Outstanding Work in Technical Theatre: Kirsten Busse

Outstanding Sound Design Student: Conrad Smi

Outstanding Playwriting Award: Ty Hawton, Susanna Bezooyen

Outstanding Dramaturgy Student Award: Sydney Southwick

Outstanding Theatre Critical Studies Student Award: Kathryn Arnold, Ty Hawton

Outstanding Theatre Education Student: Katelyn Tullis

Outstanding Achievement in Student Teaching: Esther Ting

Outstanding Directing Student Award: Joanna Noall

Outstanding MDT Student Award: Beatriz Melo, Cameron Robbins, Anna Tanner, Rachel Peterson

Outstanding Acting Student: Sten Shearer, Ian Buckley

Outstanding Theatre Student Finalists: Denali Linton, Ty Hawton, Melissa Longhurst, Sophie Guerrero, Sten Shearer, Benjamin Raymant

The Outstanding Theatre Student: Claire Eyestone