In Department of Theatre and Media Arts, Faculty and Staff

Photo of Wade HollinghausWade Hollingshaus, an associate professor in Theatre and Media Arts, has accepted the position as chair of the department beginning July 15, 2015. The three-year term opened up with the recent appointment of current chair Amy Jensen as associate dean for the College of Fine Arts and Communications.

Ed Adams, dean of the College of Fine Arts and Communications, made the announcement July 1 during a special faculty meeting. “Wade is solutions oriented,” said Adams. “I appreciate Wade making the sacrifice and accepting the position.”

Hollingshaus received his Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota in 2008 and has served in various area leadership positions. For the past three years Hollingshaus has led the assessment efforts of the department, where he worked to integrate the Aims of a BYU Education into TMA’s assessment measures and outcomes. He has also been integrally involved in the department’s preparation for the NAST accreditation and site visit that will occur in 2017.

Photo of Amy JensenAdams also praised Jensen for her leadership of the department. “I hold Amy in high regard,” added Adams. “Under Amy’s direction this department is well-respected at the university. Amy has been effective in creating a strong community and has increased faculty engagement.”

During Jensen’s tenure, she directed the department’s process for long-term strategic planning, collaboration and teamwork within TMA areas, intra/inter-departmental student mentored projects, retooling of curricular offerings, increased funding for student scholarships and internships, encouraged and supported faculty scholarship, and prepared for and successfully completed university reviews.

Recommended Posts