Skip to main content

External Relations

contentVerticalPosition: , overrideVerticalAlignment: , contentHorizontalPosition: , overrideHorizontalAlignment:
contentVerticalPosition: , overrideVerticalAlignment: , contentHorizontalPosition: , overrideHorizontalAlignment:
contentVerticalPosition: , overrideVerticalAlignment: , contentHorizontalPosition: , overrideHorizontalAlignment:
contentVerticalPosition: , overrideVerticalAlignment: , contentHorizontalPosition: , overrideHorizontalAlignment:
contentVerticalPosition: , overrideVerticalAlignment: , contentHorizontalPosition: , overrideHorizontalAlignment:
contentVerticalPosition: , overrideVerticalAlignment: , contentHorizontalPosition: , overrideHorizontalAlignment:
contentVerticalPosition: , overrideVerticalAlignment: , contentHorizontalPosition: , overrideHorizontalAlignment:
contentVerticalPosition: , overrideVerticalAlignment: , contentHorizontalPosition: , overrideHorizontalAlignment:
contentVerticalPosition: , overrideVerticalAlignment: , contentHorizontalPosition: , overrideHorizontalAlignment:
contentVerticalPosition: , overrideVerticalAlignment: , contentHorizontalPosition: , overrideHorizontalAlignment:

We secure greater local and global visibility for the College of Fine Arts and Communications by maximizing the positive impact of external relationships on the college’s reputation, resources and programming; thereby increasing the strength of the college’s academic programs and influence in the world.

EXTERNAL RELATIONS MISSION
The mission of the College of Fine Arts and Communications’ External Relations Office is to share the unique role of the arts and secure greater local and global visibility for the college.
Hidden image
Increase Awareness

We increase awareness of the college’s creative works, research, events, personnel and students through deliberate communication.

Hidden image
Strategic Advice

We support the deans, chairs and university leaders by advising and providing perspective. We lead strategic communication efforts to unify and promote the college. We manage threats to the college’s reputation.

Hidden image
Share Stories

We tell stories and highlight achievements of students, faculty and staff within the college to alumni, donors and the university through a variety of channels.

Hidden image
Promote the Arts

We build awareness of events, programs and performances that highlight the creative works of our students and faculty.

Learn More About Our Services

The External Relations office offers a variety of services to help cover events and promote the college. Please visit this infographic
for more information on how our CFAC Communications Portal can help you.

Team Photo

EXTERNAL RELATIONS OFFICE ROLES

Lead by Assistant Dean Melinda Semadeni, each team is essential to fulfilling the mission of the External Relations Office.

Editorial

editorial-1024x683.jpg
Our team tells the stories of students who participate in experiential learning opportunities, highlights the exceptional achievements of students and faculty and builds awareness of events, programs and performances.

Photo & Design

photo-1-1024x1024.jpg
Our team visually captures the experiences of students and faculty by focusing on experiential learning, events and creative work. We also assist in the creation of graphics to inform and engage audiences.

Social Media

social-media-1024x1024.jpg
Our team connects with audiences on multiple social media platforms by highlighting the experiential learning that goes on in the College of Fine Arts & Communications. We promote the academic aspects of events, performances and achievements.

Web

web-1024x683.jpg
Our team creates, maintains and enhances online materials to reach all audiences. While focusing on the needs of faculty, staff, students, alumni and donors, we use technology and innovative thinking to solve problems, present solutions and empower users.

EXTERNAL RELATIONS COUNCIL

The External Relations Council is comprised of representatives from the academic units throughout the college. The council hosts a monthly meeting designed to collaborate on and cross-promote External Relations activities and strategies. The meeting is an opportunity for:

  • The External Relations office to share updates and resources with area leadership, faculty and staff
  • The areas to let External Relations know about what’s going in their unit, as well as to share news pitches
  • The college to encourage faculty, staff and students to submit news and experiential learning stories

EXTERNAL RELATIONS COUNCIL ROSTER (SUMMER 2021)

DEPARTMENT

NAME

TITLE

EMAIL

Department of Art Chris Lynn Professor  chrislynn@byu.edu
Department of Art Maddison Colvin Administrative Assistant maddison_colvin@byu.edu
School of Communications Jacey Carpenter Outreach Coordinator jacey@byu.edu
School of Communications Joel Campbell Associate Teaching Professor joeljaycampbell@gmail.com
Department of Dance Hilary Wolfley Visiting Professor hilary_wolfley@byu.edu
Department of Dance Erin McClellan PR Coordinator, Dance erin.mcclellan@byu.edu
Department of Design Eric Gillett Design Department Chair ericgillett@byu.edu
Department of Design Brendan Gwynn Design Department PR Coordinator designdept.pr@byu.edu
School of Music Mark Ammons Associate Professor mark_ammons@byu.edumark_ammons@byu.edu
School of Music Jihea Hong-Park Associate Professor jhongpark@byu.edu
Theatre and Media Arts Kyle Stapley Media Arts Administrator kyle_stapley@byu.edu
Theatre and Media Arts Elizabeth Funk TMA Administrative Assistant elizabeth_funk@byu.edu
Theatre and Media Arts Grant Gomm Media Arts Program Coordinator grant_gomm@byu.edu
Museum of Art Teresa Taylor Assistant Director, Operations & Finance teresa_taylor@byu.edu
Museum of Art Riley Lewis Marketing and Public Relations Manager riley_lewis@byu.edu
BYU Music Group Ben Fales General Manager ben_fales@byu.edu
BYU Arts Ty Davis Creative Services Manager ty_davis@byu.edu
BYU Arts Bridget Benton Assistant Dean, Presenter/Producer bentonb@byu.edu
Galleries Eric Edvalson Director of Galleries eric_edvalson@byu.edu
Philanthropies Dept. Brad Olsen Communications Specialist brad_olsen@byu.edu
PAM Karson Denney Artist Manager karson_denney@byu.edu
CFAC Randa Alvord Academic Advisor randa_alvord@byu.edu
Dean’s Office Melinda Semadeni Assistant Dean melinda_semadeni@byu.edu

How To Contact Us

CFAC Communications Portal


We are here to support you! Visit the College of Fine Arts and Communications portal page to use website tools, review writing resources or submit a request to the External Relations team.

CFAC Communications Portal

Submit a Story


Are you involved in an exciting school-related project? Tell us about it by submitting an experience to the Experience CFAC contest or Submit your Story here. We want to tell your story.

Experience CFAC Contest

Submit Your Story

Join Our Team

We Are Hiring!

We are always looking for hard-working people to join our team! Go to studentjobs.byu.edu and look to see if there are any available positions for the External Relations office for the College of Fine Arts and Communications. If there are no positions listed, email cfacpr@byu.edu and let us know what part of the team you’re interested in and we’ll see if we have a spot on the team for you.